cents-n-sensibility

the art of frugal homemaking and creative stewardship

easy cleaning September 20, 2009

The other day I ran out of shower/tub cleaner. The tub was REALLY dirty. Nate was taking a nap and I had just gone shopping the day before, so running out to the store was not a viable option. Fiddlesticks! What else could I use? Then I remembered a recipe that I’d seen in a magazine for concocting a simple bathroom cleaner using baking soda, dishwashing soap, and lemon juice. Score! I have all that stuff! My best friend had also mentioned to me recently that she used straight dishwashing soap to clean her tub. What did I have to lose?

It worked great, and I haven’t bought anymore regular tub/shower cleaner since then! Why bother? It’s cheaper and just as easy to use the stuff I already always have around anyway. Not to mention, my hands didn’t feel slimy and as if something was eating at them by the time I was finished. Fewer harsh chemicals used; less money spent. Now that’s my kind of cleaning.

Needless to say, that experience has left me curious about other natural cleaning recipes. I’m not interested in “going green” just for the sake of doing it. But, you know, when it has other advantages too…I had to ask myself why not? I thought that some of you might be interested in some of the recipes that I’ve found. Happy Cleaning!!!

baking soda

tub/shower cleaner:

Pre-wet your tub. Form a little pile of paste in the bottom of your tub using the following approximations:

2 T. baking soda
1 T. lemon juice
1 T. dishwashing soap

[Make more as you go if you need it.] Scrub around with scrub brush or sponge with white scrub pad. Rinse clean.

cinnamon

ant deterrent:

Sprinkle some cinnamon along the edge to your counter top, window sill or wherever you suspect the ants are coming into the house. It won’t take very long for the ants to leave you alone, and then you can just wipe it up. It may look a bit messy while you’re waiting for the ants to take a hint and scram, but it will make your kitchen smell nice while you wait!

from the household of: Whitney Moody

vinegar

stainless steel cleaner:

Spray stainless steel surface with undilluted white vinegar. Wipe clean with soft, dry cloth.

all-purpose cleaner:

Mix equal amounts of white vinegar and water in spray bottle.

The acetic acid in vinegar kills viruses, germs, bacteria and mold. It also dissolves tough mineral deposits and stains like those found in sinks, toilets and tubs.

Benefits of Cleaning with Vinegar

  • inexpensive
  • no harsh chemicals
  • effective sanitizer
  • effective stain remover
  • safe for most surfaces [exceptions: marble and some finished wood or tile surfaces]

For 1001 more ideas visit VinegarTips. com.

If you have tips for easy cleaning solutions, please do share! I’d love to find more ways to save time and money by using things that I already have sitting around the house.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.